International Activites


a) ERASMUS+ Programme

Inquiries relating to Erasmus exchange programmes should be directed to the department’s coordinator: PhDr. Jaroslava Šťastná, Ph.D.,


Information for outgoing students

The nomination process along with the mobility schedule and the particulars of studying abroad are regulated by the rules of the International Relations Office of Charles University’s Faculty of Arts. If you’re looking to study abroad, please follow Charles University’s website and the links listed below. Other useful information and instructions might be issued by the individual departments and can be found on their respective websites.

For more information please visit:

Erasmus+ programmes | Faculty of Arts, Charles University (

The main call for applications for the following academic year is open during February–March, with an additional call for applications for the summer semester of the following academic year taking place in September. Please note, however, that the number of available placements might be limited in September due to the places having been secured by the candidates during the spring call for applications.

The Department of Social Work currently holds exchange agreements with the following institutions through their departments offering English-taught study programmes in social work:


1. Aalborg University (Denmark). Students of both bachelor’s and master’s programmes can apply to study in Aalborg but it is always necessary to check the placement offer for the current year.

Guest and Exchange Programmes at AAU


2. Coimbra University (Portugal). Students of both bachelor’s and master’s programmes can apply to study in Coimbra but it is generally recommended for students at bachelor level. Possible to attend in both the summer and winter semester.

Universidade de Coimbra (

Faculty of Psychology & Education Sciences 

Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences – University of Coimbra


3. Catholic University of Applied Sciences Nordrhein-Westfalen (Germany, Cologne, Munster Campus). Possible to attend in the summer semester. Students of both bachelor’s and master’s programmes can apply.

katho – Catholic University of Applied Sciences of North Rhine – Westphalia (


4. Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice (Slovakia). Possible to attend in both semesters for students of both bachelor’s and master’s programmes.

Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice (

Department of Social Work | UPJŠ (


Our students can also visit other universities, applying via those departments of the Faculty of Arts that have Erasmus+ agreements with them. Should you want to apply via another department, you need to be nominated by both your home department and the one by which you want to be placed. Both departments might then require you to participate in their respective admission processes. It is also necessary to check with the host university whether you can attend a study programme that is different than the one via which you have been placed. 

General requirements for the admission process at Faculty of Arts:

A brief CV (in Czech, unless otherwise provided by the department)

  1. Motivation letter (usually in the language of the exchange destination but dependent on the department)
  2. Proof of language proficiency (proficiency in the language of teaching should be at minimum level B2)
  3. Transcript of study records (can be generated in the Student Information System, SIS)
  4. + other criteria: Per the department’s requirements, the admission process can include an oral interview, proof of the candidate’s engagement in academic activities, etc.

Information for incoming students

International students can study at the Faculty of Art’s Department of Social Work under the terms and conditions provided by the ERASMUS+ agreements as well as the general rules of the ERASMUS+ programme.

The following English-taught courses are offered at the Department of Social Work. The courses are only available for the summer semester (mid-February to June).

  • Social work in Czechia
  • Social Work and Social Welfare Advanced
  • Social Policy in Czechia
  • Overview of Social Work Practice

The department can also offer other courses. The complete list and schedule will be available in December at the latest.

Incoming students can also choose from courses offered by other departments of the Faculty of Arts, or even other faculties. Their lists can be found on the International Relations Office’s website.


b) CEEPUS Programme

The Department of Social Work has been participating in the Central European Exchange Programme for University Studies (CEEPUS) – an exchange programme centring on regional cooperation among the universities of Central and South-East Europe.

As part of the programme, our department is a member of the Central European Social Policy and Social Work Network (CESPASWON).

The main objective of the Central European Social Policy and Social Work Network is to build upon the existing cooperation in the region (among the countries of former Yugoslavia) as well as to expand ties with new partners (Austria, the Czech Republic) in order to establish academic partnerships among the universities, encouraging them to cultivate and promote social work at regional level as well as the research and study of social policy. In addition, CESPASWON supports the exchange of teaching practices and offers a wide range of international study opportunities for both students and teachers of social work and policy in Central and Eastern Europe.

Activities undertaken within the programme include organising the so-called regional weeks, offering study and work placement opportunities abroad, gathering and analysing field-specific resources, mentoring of doctoral and other academic theses.

For more information, see the leaflet.


c) Other Student Mobility Programmes

Students of the Department of Social Work can choose from other study-abroad opportunities, which are regularly updated by Charles University’s International Relations Office.

Study abroad | Faculty of Arts, Charles University (


d) Cooperation with Florida State University – College of Social Work

The Faculty of Art’s Department of Social Work has long been in close cooperation with Florida State University (FSU), namely its College of Social Work. Our department is hosting FSU-organised summer school programmes focusing on human rights and criminal justice. The realisation of the summer school programmes is a collaborative effort between our American colleagues and our department’s academic staff. Czech students, too, are welcome to attend the lectures and courses. 

Both students and staff can participate in mobility activities as part of the FSU cooperation.

For more information about FSU please visit:

Úvod > International Activites